Skip to main content

MIFF 54th Shorts Awards

MIFF features one of the most highly regarded short-film competitions in the Southern Hemisphere.

This year the eligible short films are competing for a total cash prize pool of $42,000:

  • City of Melbourne Grand Prix for Best Short Film ($10,000)
  • Film Victoria Erwin Rado Award for Best Australian Short Film ($7000)
  • Swinburne Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker ($5000)
  • Cinema Nova Award for Best Fiction Short Film ($5000)
  • MIFF Award for Best Animation Short Film ($5000)
  • Pond5 Award for Best Documentary Short Film ($5000)
  • RMIT University Award for Best Experimental Short Film ($5000)

All prize-winning shorts will be announced at the Shorts Awards ceremony on Sunday 9 August.

View 2014 winners

MIFF Shorts Awards Jury 2015

Anna McLeish

Producer of Ariel Kleiman's Partisan, Justin Kurzel’s Snowtown, Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland’s Shopping, and two chapters of Tim Winton's The Turning.

Christos Tsiolkas

Essayist, film critic, playwright, occasional screenwriter and author of novels Loaded, The Jesus Man, Dead Europe, The Slap and Barracuda.

Hayley Weston

Distribution manager for Rialto Distribution, who has worked on Taika Waititi’s Two Cars, One Night, Ben Wheatley’s Sightseers and David Robert Mitchell’s It Follows.