Short Film Competition Regulations

MIFF is an Academy Awards®, BAFTA, and AACTA Awards accredited festival. 

All Films completed after 1 January 2018, 40 minutes and 29 seconds or less in length (including credits), not available in entirety for download or viewing online, including DVD release, theatrically exhibited (excluding graduation and cast and crew screenings) or broadcast on Australian television (cable or free-to-air), and have the Victorian premiere screening at MIFF, are eligible for competition.

The Short Film Programmer/s will select Films from the official competition program to be submitted to the Short Film Awards Jury. The shortlisted Films will not be made public. The Jury’s processes, discussions, and deliberations are strictly confidential and no discussion will be entered into regarding their decisions. The award winners will be announced during the MIFF Shorts Awards Ceremony during the festival.

The Short Films in competition compete for the following prizes:

  • Grand Prix for Best Short Film (Academy Accredited Award)
  • Award for Best Australian Short Film (Academy Accredited Award)
  • Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker
  • Award for Best Fiction Short Film 
  • Award for Best Animation Short Film
  • Award for Best Documentary Short Film (Academy Accredited Award)
  • Award for Best Experimental Short Film

Please note, the prizes are subject to change.

For more information, please visit our Shorts Awards page.