Accelerator 10th Anniversary

MIFF's Accelerator program turns 10 this year!

Over the past decade, MIFF Accelerator has helped develop numerous feature filmmakers, including the box-office hit Animal Kingdom director David Michôd (Accelerator 2007) and Amiel Courtin-Wilson (Accelerator 2004), who won the MIFF 2012 Age Critics Award for Best Australian Feature with Hail.

Fittingly for a program designed to help short filmmakers seeking to make the transition to feature filmmaking, several of our feature films this year are from MIFF Accelerator alumi. Anthony Chen's (Accelerator 2008) debut feature Ilo Ilo, pictured above, won this year's Cannes Film Festival Caméra d'Or, while Mark Albiston's (Accelerator 2007) debut feature Shopping took home the 2013 Berlinale Generation 14plus Best Feature Film prize.

Rhys Graham (Accelerator 2006) world premieres his MIFF Premiere Fund-supported Galore. Zak Hilditch and Anna Broinowski (both Accelerator Express Directors in 2011, selected by Screen Australia’s Springboard Program) also world premiere their MIFF Premiere Fund-supported films, These Final Hours and Aim High in Creation!, respectively.

Rhys Graham also directed one of the chapters of Tim Winton's The Turning, as did Ashlee Page (Accelerator 2010), Jonathan auf der Heide (Accelerator 2008) and Justin Kurzel (Accelerator 2004).

Meanwhile, Kazik Radwanski (Accelerator 2010) brings us one of the year's most jarring and accomplished debuts in Tower.

Congratulations to all Accelerator participants and alumni. Here's to another 10 years of exciting, award-winning short and feature filmmaking.

© Melbourne International Film Festival 2013.

Site by MeccaMedialight. Powered by Textstem CMS.