MIFF 52nd Shorts Awards

MIFF features one of the most highly regarded short film competitions in the Southern Hemisphere. In 2013 the eligibile short films competed for a total cash prize pool of $42,000. The winners, announced on Sunday 4 August, are:

  • City of Melbourne Grand Prix for Best Short Film ($10,000) – Pandas
    • Director – Matúš Vizár
    • Producer – Peter Badač, Tomáš Hrubý
  • Film Victoria Erwin Rado Award for Best Australian Short Film ($7000) – Tau Seru
    • Director and Producer – Rodd Rathjen
  • Swinburne Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker ($5000) – James Vaughan for You Like It, I Love It
  • Cinema Nova Award for Best Fiction Short Film ($5000) – Just Before Losing Everything
    • Director – Xavier Legrand
    • Producer – Alexandre Gavras
  • Holmesglen Award for Best Animation Short Film ($5000) – Irish Folk Furniture
    • Director – Tony Donoghue
    • Producer – Cathal Black
  • BBC Knowledge Award for Best Documentary Short Film ($5000) – Recollections
    • Director – Nathanael Carton
    • Producer – Jonathan Berguig
  • The Astor Theatre Award for Best Experimental Short Film ($5000) – Crystal World
    • Director and Producer – Pia Borg
  • Jury Special Mention for Iyeza, Director and Producer – Kudzanai Chiurai

The MIFF Shorts Awards are Academy®, BAFTA and AACTA accredited. The winners of the Best MIFF Short, Best Fiction, Best Animation and Best Documentary awards will be eligible to submit their film for the 86th Academy Awards® in 2014. 


MIFF Shorts Awards Jury


Lorin Clarke

Co-presenter of 3RRR's Breakfasters program, Lorin is a writer, director and broadcaster with experience working in theatre, film, television and radio. Lorin writes about the arts, law and culture for various publications, including Meanjin, and she is the television columnist for The Big Issue


Michael Matrenza

Currently working in theatrical distribution at Madman Entertainment, Michael has previously worked at Roadshow Films and on publicity campaigns for MIFF, the St Kilda Film Festival and the Japanese Film Festival. Michael is passionate about working with local filmmakers on new Australian releases.


Ramona Telecican

Ramona is the producer of Andrew Kavanagh's shorts At the Formal (MIFF 2011) and Men of the Earth (MIFF 2012), with At the Formal taking home the Best Emerging Filmmaker award in 2011. Between film projects, Ramona works at VICE magazine.

MIFF Shorts Awards Ceremony

All prize-winning films will be announced at the awards ceremony and a selection of the winning films will be screened on Sunday 4 August, 6.30pm at Greater Union Cinemas.

Best MIFF Shorts Screening

The Best MIFF Shorts Screening is a collection of the best short films of the festival, as chosen by the MIFF Shorts Awards jury. It is on Sunday 11 August, 4pm at Greater Union Cinemas.

© Melbourne International Film Festival 2013.

Site by MeccaMedialight. Powered by Textstem CMS.