Search The Archive

Search the film archive

MIFF features one of the most highly regarded short-film competitions in the southern hemisphere. This year the eligible short films are competing for a total cash prize pool of $42,000:

City of Melbourne Grand Prix for Best Short Film ($10,000)

Film Victoria Erwin Rado Award for Best Australian Short Film ($7000)

Swinburne Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker ($5000)

Cinema Nova Award for Best Fiction Short Film ($5000)

SAE Institute Award for Best Animation Short Film ($5000)

RMIT University Award for Best Documentary Short Film ($5000)

MIFF Award for Best Experimental Short Film ($5000)

The MIFF Shorts Awards are Academy®, BAFTA and AACTA accredited. The winners of the Best MIFF Short, Best Australian and Best Documentary awards will be eligible to submit their film for the 89th Academy Awards® in 2017.

All prize-winning films will be announced at this ceremony and a selection of the winning will be screened.